Level Three Foundation Diploma/Diploma/Extended Diploma in Computing

The course is designed for students who wish to have a career in IT or progress to a Foundation Degree in Computing or, if combined with A levels, on to a university degree. Learners will study for three mandatory units and nine other units. The course is equivalent to two A-Levels.

What will I study?

Mandatory units:

  •  Communication and employability skills for IT
  •  Information systems
  • Computer systems

Optional units (these are subject to available tutors):

  • Computer networks
  • Software design and development
  • Computer systems architecture
  • Human computer interaction
  • Digital graphics
  • Managing networks
  • IT technical support
  • Spreadsheet modelling
  • IT troubleshooting and repair
  • Database design
  • Developing computer games
  • Website production

How will I be assessed?

This course is assessed through practical activities and written coursework depending on the subject matter. Assessment methods used include assignments, observations, presentations, displays and written reports.

Entry requirements

Four GCSEs grade A*-C/ 4- 9 to include Maths and English
Or level two diploma (merit)
Or first diploma (merit)
Or NVQ level two
Or equivalent

What next?

BTEC diplomas are valued by employers, universities and colleges. Students go into careers in many IT-related disciplines. If you want to go straight into a job, you could work in systems analysis and design, software engineering, computing and website development. If you decide to go into higher education, you could do a Foundation Degree in Computing or degrees in subjects such as computing, e-business, games programming or software engineering.

Additional information

For start dates and fees, consult the relevant course guides below or you can request a prospectus by post.

Full Time 2018 Higher Education 2019 Spring Part-time course guide Apprenticeship Guide