East Riding College Principal Appointed to HEY LEP Sub Board

13th September 2021 4:50pm - Return to press releases

East Riding College Principal Appointed to HEY LEP Sub Board

Principal of East Riding College Mike Welsh has been named a sub-board member of the Hull and East Yorkshire Local Enterprise Partnership (HEY LEP).

The HEY LEP recently announced the appointment following a successful recruitment campaign where the LEP was overwhelmed by both the number and quality of applications received from individuals representing many different sectors. 

Sub-Board members are set to steer the economic direction of our region and have been appointed by the Hull and East Yorkshire Local Enterprise Partnership to contribute to its Growth and Wellbeing Strategy.

The sub-board members, bring a wealth of experience in a number of key sectors and will help define the priorities of the Business Support, Employment and Skills and Infrastructure sub-Boards.

Mr Welsh will represent TEC Partnership - of which East Riding College is a member college – on the Employment and Skills Board.  The Board has members representing local education and skills providers such as colleges, universities and training providers, as well as representatives from industry.  The Employment and Skills Board will be chaired by Jayne Adamson and will focus on reducing the skills gaps in the region and delivering the recommendations of the Local Skills Report, by creating the foundations for the growth of new jobs in the region, in addition to ensuring that young people receive high quality careers advice.

Mr Welsh said, “I am pleased to continue to serve the region in this new capacity, representing TEC Partnership - fulfilling its mission to both enrich lives and meet the needs of the local economy.  I will be one of several board members whose primary focus is to ensure people can thrive in the jobs market, by giving them the skills employers need.  I look forward to playing my part in that and driving the economic development of the region.”
Launching on 1 April, the HEY LEP represents and supports businesses and other sectors of the regional economy based in Hull and the East Riding of Yorkshire, replacing the former Humber LEP on the North Bank, to form a public/private sector partnership with the two Councils.

James Newman, Chair of HEY LEP, said: “I am delighted that so many high quality individuals from all sectors have volunteered to support the LEP in its vital work in developing and delivering the economic strategy for the new HEY region.

“The work that these Boards will be doing is an important part of the implementation and delivery of the various economic strategies and funding programmes that will transform the region over the next five to ten years.

“This is an important watershed in the history of the region, with a potential devolution deal on offer and the region at the forefront of the Government’s Net Zero and Global Britain strategies. Never has there been an opportunity for this region to shine and demonstrate its private sector and entrepreneurial strengths in such a united way.’’


The sub-board members appointed so far are:


Business Support Board (Chaired by Gill Alton OBE Chief Executive of TEC Partnership)

Jan Brumby (FEO)

Antonio C Malfense Fierro (Hull University Business School)

James Mason (Welcome to Yorkshire)

Rachel Smurthwaite (Sewell Group)

Jason Speedy (Groupe Atlantic)

Nic Dakin (Chamber of Commerce)

David Hall (Beverley Park Homes, Minster Leisure Homes, Oaks of Beverley and Halls and Oliver)

David Kilburn (MKM Building Supplies)

Madge Moore (Yorkshire Food Farming)


Employment and Skills Board (Chaired by Jayne Adamson):

Sue Balthazar (Probe Hull)

Kirsty Bark (Soncoco Trident)

Catherine Bishop (Tigers Sport and Education Trust)

Sarah Bone (Headlands School)

Laura Botham (Siemens Gamesa)

Daniel Brett (Bishop Burton College)

Mark Burley (Keepmoat Homes and Hull Citywide Developer Partnership)

Pat Coyle (Rollits LLP)

Andy Crossland (Humber Learning Consortium)

Nikki Davies (VictoriaPlum.com)

Iain Elliott (HETA)

David Gent (Active Humber)

Liz Hutchinson (DWP)

Becky Huxley-Binns (University of Hull)

James McIntosh (CATCH)

Michelle Peacock (Education Development Trust)

Mike Welsh (East Riding College/TEC Partnership)


Infrastructure Board (Chaired by Stephen Parnaby OBE)

David Garness (Garness Jones Limited)

Tony Kirby (Local Transport Projects Ltd)

Linda Martin (Sewell Group)

Richard Beal (Beal Homes)

Eman Forster (Eon Consulting)

Andrew Horncastle (Horncastle Group)

Tim Rix (JR Rix and Sons)

Dominic Gibbons (Wykeland Group)

Mark Barratt (Risby Homes)