Term dates

 

Term dates for the 2023/2024 academic year 

Autumn term 2023:
Tuesday September 5 2023 to Wednesday December 20 2023
Half-term: Monday October 30 2023 to Friday November 3 2023.

Christmas holidays: Thursday December 21 2023 to Monday January 8 2024

Spring term 2024:
Monday January 8 2024 to Thursday March 21 2024.
Half-term: Monday February 12 2024 to Friday February 16 2024.

Easter holidays: Monday March 25 2024 to Monday April 8 2024

Summer term 2024:
Monday April 8 2024 to Friday June 28 2024
Half-term: Monday May 27 2023 to Friday May 31 2023.

The above are term dates for full-time courses. Some courses can continue beyond the end of the summer term and term dates for higher education courses can differ to these term dates. Courses may be run during holidays, on evenings and on Saturdays over the academic year.

 

Term dates for the 2023/2024 academic year HE students

Semester 1:

Monday September 11 2023 to Friday January 12 2024*

Assessment period: Monday October 30 2023 to Friday November 3 2024

Half-term: Monday October 30 2023 to Friday November 3 2023

Christmas holidays: Thursday December 21 2023 to Monday January 8 2024

Semester 2:
Monday January 22 2024 to Friday May 24 2024*

Half-term: Monday February 12 2024 to Friday February 16 2024

Easter holidays: Monday March 25 2024 to Monday April 8 2024

Half-term: Monday May 27 2024 to Friday May 31 2024

Assessment period**: Monday June 3 2024 to Friday June 7 2024

Download the Higher Education Academic Calendar here

 

* Please refer to individual module handbooks for final assessment deadlines

Re-sit work Deadline Date: Monday August 5 2024                         **see below

** Holidays taken during the re-sit period in July/August will not be accepted as mitigating circumstances for the non-submission of work or failure to attend an examination.

 

Student Finance England will calculate funding entitlements from the following term dates:

Term Dates Start Date End Date
Autumn 11 September 2023 21 December 2023
Spring 8 January 2024 22 March 2024
Summer 8 April 2024 7 June 2024

 

Please note the following date is a Staff Development Day and no classes will take place:

21 December 2023

 

Bank holidays are as follows:        

Good Friday  Friday, March 29, 2024
Easter Monday  Monday, April 1, 2024
Early May Bank Holiday  Monday, May 6, 2024
Spring Bank Holiday  Monday, May, 27, 2024